Tradução

Today, I have been thinking about working in the area of legal translation. It would be something I would like to try, something I could do as a freelancer and it would allow me to study law, at the same time as I am working. I am volunteering at the present moment, as a translator for a website called Coursera. This is one of the websites I have recently discovered, when searching for educational videos and websites.

Hoje, estive a pensar sobre trabalhar na área de tradução jurídica. Seria algo que eu gostaria de experimentar, algo que eu poderia fazer como freelancer e permitir-me-ia estudar direito enquanto trabalho. Neste momento, sou tradutora voluntária num site chamado Coursera. Este, faz parte de um grupo de sites que descobri recentemente, enquanto procurava vídeos e sites educativos.

I didn’t know there was such thing as MOOC, which, as far as I understand, are free online courses you can attend, even after they have finished. They also offer a certificate at the end of the course, but only if you pay for it. I don’t really care about those certifications, but the possibility of learning a range of different subjects for free is, in fact, very interesting. The internet can be extremely useful for education. As the internet advances, the more people look for self-education tools, like online courses, videos, blogs or apps. You can find anything from heavy subjects like engineering to simple life hacks.

Eu desconhecia que existia uma tal coisa chamada de MOOC, que, de acordo com o que percebi, são cursos grátis online a que se pode assistir, mesmo após terem terminado. Estes, oferecem ainda um certificado no final do curso, se se pagar por isso. Não tenho grande interesse nessas certificações, mas a possibilidade de aprender sobre uma diversidade de disciplinas gratuitamente é, de facto, bastante interessante. A internet pode ser extremamente útil para a educação. À medida que a internet avança, as pessoas procuram cada vez mais ferramentas auto-didácticas, como cursos online, vídeos, blogs ou aplicações. É possível encontrar todo o tipo de assuntos desde temas mais pesados como engenharia a simples dicas para o dia-a-dia.

Some of the courses I wanted to attend were related to leadership, international law, human rights, legal English and essay writing. I don’t have any free time, except for the weekends, but I thought it would be interesting if I volunteered as a Portuguese translator for those kind of courses – (and with this I had my eyes already set on the legal courses). I considered the following: it would allow native Portuguese speakers to access a greater variety of study material, it would allow me to get “work” experience in translation and I would be studying the courses that interested me as I was translating them.

Alguns dos cursos, a que eu gostaria de assistir, dizem repseito a liderança, direito internacional, direitos humanos, inglês jurídico e redação de textos. Apesar de não ter grande tempo livre, com excepção dos fins-de-semana, pensei que seria interessante se me voluntariasse como tradutora de português, nesse género de cursos – (e com isto, já tinha os olhos postos nos cursos jurídicos). Tive em consideração o seguinte: iria permitir a nativos da língua portuguesa o acesso a uma maior variedade de material, permitir-me-ia adquirir experiência em trabalho de tradução e estaria a estudar os cursos que são do meu interesse, enquanto os traduzia.

It would be killing two birds with one stone. I scheduled the translations for Saturday, and the first course I applied to, as translation volunteer, concerned the International Court of Justice. Truthfully, it is much harder than I thought, but I enjoy it. I have downloaded some books regarding Legal English vocabulary and writing lessons, which I will read after the Cambridge Advanced English exam. I don’t want to get caught up in trying to do everything at the same time, so I won’t digress.

Seria matar dois coelhos de uma só cajadada. Agendei as traduções para sábado, e o primeiro curso ao qual concorri como tradutora voluntária diz respeito ao Tribunal Internacional de Justiça. Para ser franca, é muito mais difícil do que eu esperava, mas é divertido. Fiz o download de alguns livros relacionados com lições de escrita e vocabulário em inglês jurídico, o qual vou ler após o exame de inglês avançado do Cambridge. Como não quero cair do erro de tentar fazer tudo ao mesmo tempo, não me vou dispersar.

Instead, I will focus on studying advanced English grammar and vocabulary, while studying Spanish. I have all the time in the world, so I will study legal English later on. Since I am an advanced learner of English, and I am translating from English to Portuguese, not the other way around, so I don’t feel the immediate need to study the specific terms.

Em vez disso, vou focar-me em estudar gramática e vocabulário, de nível avançado de inglês, enquanto estudo espanhol. Tenho todo o tempo do mundo, portanto irei estudar inglês jurídico noutra altura. Já que sou uma estudante de nível avançado de inglês e estou a traduzir de inglês para português, não ao contrário, não sinto a necessidade de ir imediatamente estudar a terminologia específica.

In fact, I’m not an expert in legal terms in English but when translating into Portuguese, it is essential to understand what is being transmitted, which I do. I’m just not that comfortable conveying a message using legal terms in a foreign language. However, because I often write reports for the court and I read a lot of court decisions, I have developed great writing skills in legal Portuguese. I haven’t finished translating a complete course, but my name will be featured in the translator’s sheet afterwards.

De facto, não sou perita em termos jurídicos ingleses, mas ao traduzir para português, o essencial é compreender o que está a ser transmitido, o que de facto acontece. Só não me sinto confortável a transmitir uma mensagem usando termos jurídicos numa língua estrangeira. Contudo, como escrevo frequentemente relatórios para o tribunal e leio muitos despachos judiciais, desenvolvi óptimas capacidades de escrita em português jurídico. Ainda não acabei de traduzir nenhum curso, mas o meu nome aparecerá na lista de tradutores, no final. 

DAISY. 

Leave a comment